c (299,792 km/s)

“c” is my upcoming science-fiction film. Set in the distant future, “c” tells the story of First Lieutenant Malleck and her radical attempt to salvage reason during an interplanetary cold war.

No CGI or greenscreen is being used in the making of the film; instead I’m going back to the old-fashioned methods of miniature photography, rear-projection and in-camera effects. I’m shooting on a shoe-string budget, so I’ve had to get creative with limited resources; a lot of the interior sets are built out of tape, milk crates, holes poked in cardboard, and tricks of light & depth-of-field. Expect some in-depth behind-the-scenes posts in the near future!

 

Starring:

Caroline Winterson, James Fauvell, Dan Region, and Xandra Stegmaier.

10 Responses to “c (299,792 km/s)”

  1. Adam Says:

    The mood of this feels very much like “Moon.” You should reach out to Duncan Jones (twitter: @ManMadeMoon). Maybe he’d be interested in producing.

  2. Colin Says:

    I heard about this project via io9.com – I’m very excited! The mood the preview sets is really striking.

  3. Nojh Says:

    Intriguing. I like the mood and atmosphere but I am very interested in the plot you have commented on and wonder if perhaps the two won’t clash. That is to say will the film be primarily character driven or will it actually focus on the interplanetary war? I have interest either way but I think I would prefer the latter.

    • derekvg Says:

      The cold war is the backdrop, and has a prominent role, but the plot centers around a very unusual mutiny that unfolds on the ship. It’s very much a part of the “military sci-fi” / “time dilation” sub-genre.

      That said, everything is in flux at the moment– the trailer has gained a lot of interest in the last 24 hours, and I am considering expanding the concept into a feature film (currently it is a short).

  4. Charles Says:

    Great. Well done. The atmosphere is fantastic. The art / production design is amazing. The actors are great, even if they say nothing. I love the old-fashioned methods of miniature photography. In 1970-1980, I learned all about it. Unfortunately, a lot of knowledge is now useless, unless you do your own production. Hmmm, you motivated me to ….
    What camera do you use, 5D?
    Charles, Netherlands.

    • derekvg Says:

      Thanks! Yes, I shot on the 5D Mk II (check out my behind-the-scenes post for details). Maybe on the next round of shoots I’d like to try using the 1D Mk IV for the model photography, more depth of field and light sensitivity would come in handy for that sort of thing.

      I love the effects back then. Did you work in the field? Sometimes I wish the digital age came 10 or 20 years later, think of the advancements they would have made with miniature photography! = )

      I think the best effects shots these days still make use of miniature work and in-camera effects (Inception, Moon). When something is actually visible through the lens, I feel it creates a much more natural, cinematic image.

  5. Charles Says:

    Die Another Day (2002) was the breaking point. It was simply not good enough. Of course we understand the problems, but the producers made a big mistake by not throwing it away.
    I make films primarily for businesses and governments.
    In 1970-1980, I have some miniature work for short films. In Holland there is no work for it. You can’t specialize. I forgot to go to Pinewood when I was 25 years … Holland is located next to UK.
    I am also pleased that they use miniature work again. Look at UFO.
    New Deal Studios will use many miniatures. Yes, Moon used them too.
    But we miss you namesake, Derek Meddings …

  6. Charles Says:

    More depth of field is welcome, as you say. In the first Star Wars John Dijkstra filmed some miniatures three times, if I remember correctly. In each passage the focus was on a different part of the miniature.

  7. Gregg Eshelman Says:

    Look up the effects on the TV series “Automan”. The glowing stuff on the actor was done live using reflective material on the costume and lights on the set. See Charles “Chuck” Barbee’s site for how he did Automan and some other neat effects using low tech methods. http://www.barbeefilm.com/automn01.htm

  8. Charles Says:

    Fantastic to see how the project develops.

Leave a Reply

